Skip To Main Content

Exceptional Children's Program

Mission Statement

 Assure that students with disabilities develop mentally, physically, emotionally, and vocationally through the provision of an appropriate individualized education in the least restrictive environment.

The Exceptional Children's Department Team

Department Phone Number: (919) 693-1103

Team Member Email and Phone Extension

Suzanne Cotterman

Senior Director

cottermans@gcs.k12.nc.us

Phone Ext: 101269

Hattie Mathis Yates

Administrative Specialist

alexanderh@gcs.k12.nc.us

Phone Ext: 101268

Charlesetta Cheatham-Smith

Financial Analyst

cheathamc@gcs.k12.nc.us

Phone Ext: 101875

Donna Bowling-Critcher

Compliance Specialist

critcherd@gcs.k12.nc.us

Phone Ext: 101271

Kathy Edwardson

Compliance Specialist/Behavior/ECS

edwardsonk@gcs.k12.nc.us

Phone Ext: 101270

Robynne Williams

Compliance Specialist

williamsrf@gcs.k12.nc.us

Phone Ext: 101248

Chenita Roberts

Preschool Specialist

robertsc@gcs.k12.nc.us

Phone Ext: 101290

Leon Greene

Behavior Support Technician

greenel1@gcs.k12.nc.us

Phone Ext: 101247

Melanie Burnette

Medicaid Specialist

burnettemb@gcs.k12.nc.us