Skip To Main Content

Exceptional Children's Program

Mission Statement

 Assure that students with disabilities develop mentally, physically, emotionally, and vocationally through the provision of an appropriate individualized education in the least restrictive environment.

Self-Advocacy Podcast - Available February 26, 2024

First page of the PDF file: ECACTheExceptionalExperiencePodcast

The Exceptional Children's Department Team

Department Phone Number: (919) 693-1103

Team Member Email and Phone Extension

Suzanne Cotterman

Senior Director

cottermans@gcs.k12.nc.us

IP Extension: 101269

Hattie Mathis Yates

Administrative Specialist

alexanderh@gcs.k12.nc.us

IP Extension: 101268

Charlesetta Cheatham-Smith

Budget Specialist

cheathamc@gcs.k12.nc.us

IP Extension: 101875

Melanie Burnette

Compliance Specialist

Medicaid Specialist

burnettemb@gcs.k12.nc.us

IP Extension: 101248

Donna Bowling-Critcher

Compliance Specialist

critcherd@gcs.k12.nc.us

IP Extension: 101271

Elton Buffaloe

EC Behavior Technician

buffaloee@gcs.k12.nc.us

(252) 738-6573

Kathy Edwardson

Compliance Specialist/Behavior/ECS

edwardsonk@gcs.k12.nc.us

IP Extension: 101270

Nekia Lawson

Compliance Specialist

lawsonr@gcs.k12.nc.uc

IP Extension: 101247

Chenita Roberts

Preschool Specialist

robertsc@gcs.k12.nc.us

IP Extension: 101290