skip to main content

GCPS Evening of Excellence 2019

Evening of Excellence

Executive Staff

Evening of Excellence & Teacher of the Year

On Thursday, May 2, hundreds of parents and community members came out to a packed auditorium at South Granville High School to celebrate the second annual “Evening of Excellence” for our schools.  The event celebrated the accomplishments of two groups: all students who earned straight A’s and perfect attendance in grades K-12; and employees who demonstrated excellence through their work across the district.  Employees were honored at a reception in the school’s Media Center with refreshments and heavy hors d'oeuvres served to staff and their families prior to the event.

The event kicked off as students marched across the stage to thumping music and bright lights as they were greeted by formally dressed district staff and Board members.  These proud, smiling students were honored for earning perfect attendance and straight A’s for the year.  Students from every school who earned these top honors had the privilege of walking the red carpet and receiving their gold star, which they can now proudly wear as evidence of their outstanding efforts in academics.  Board chairman Dr. Tom Houlihan commented in his opening remarks, “Recognizing excellence in academic achievement of our students is fundamental to our work.  The students here tonight should be commended for their efforts, and we are so proud of what you do each and every day.  You are on the right path and are models for your peers.  Congratulations!”

Also recognized at the event were dozens of staff members for their excellence in their profession.  Those first called on to stage were teachers who received honors (and monetary bonuses from the state) for their students’ performance on End-of-grade tests, Advanced Placement Exams, and Career and Technical credentials.  Each walked the red carpet to receive their gold star and recognition.  The next employees called on stage were the “employees of the year” from a wide range of categories.  Each received a gold star plaque as they walked the red carpet.  

2019 Employees of the Year:

Crystal Daye  - CG Credle - Bus Driver of the Year 2019

Deborah Adcock - JTOH/SS - Child Nutrition Employee of the Year 2019

Sarah Hardin - CESA - Clerical Employee of the Year 2019

Fred Frizzle - TRES - Custodian of the Year 2019

Christi Stephenson – Phoenix Academy - Student Support Employee of the Year  2019

Amy Clough – Phoenix Academy - Teacher Assistant of the Year 2019

Melanie Burnette - Exceptional Children - Instructional Support Employee of the Year 2019

Kasey Simmons – CG Credle - Outstanding Beginning Teacher of the Year 2019

Anthony Dickens – JF Webb - Assistant Principal of the Year 2019

Mr. Anthony Dickens

Assistant Principal of the Year 2019

Finally, senior staff and Board members recognized each of the eighteen school’s respective teachers of the year as they were called onto stage.  Superintendent McLean cut through the suspense-filled moment in the audience as she announced the 2nd and 1st runners up before finally announcing the 2019 Teacher of the Year, Mrs. Jade Currin, Kindergarten Teacher at Wilton Elementary School.  Ms. Currin was presented with her trophy, flowers and a check for $1000 on behalf of the Granville Ed Foundation, who were co-sponsors of the event with Builders Services of Creedmoor.  Each of the runners up were honored with a trophy and $500 on behalf of the Granville Ed Foundation.

Ms. Currin will go on to represent the district at the regional, state and hopefully, national level of the competition.  “We are sure that Ms. Currin will be a shining star among the others recognized across the country for this top honor.  We are proud of her and all she represents”, proclaimed Dr. McLean.

2019 Granville County Public Schools Teachers of the Year:

BSES:  Heather Mann

CG Credle ES:  Katherine Thompson (2nd Runner Up)

CESA:  HarleyAnn Lesher

Hawley:  Justin Dickson

GCHS: Doug Roberson

GECHS:  Danielle Igims

JTOH: Angela Norwood

JF Webb:  Carole Griffin

Webb SLHS:  Wendi Leas

MPMS:  Detroit Yancey

MTE:  Susan Nutt

NGMS:  Brian Kaprive (1st Runner Up)

Phoenix Academy:  Bryant Blackwell

SGHS:  Freda Lemay

SSES:  Rebecca Starzynski

TRES:  Heather Wolford

WOX:  Karen Honeycutt

Wilton:  Jade Currin (WINNER)

Jade Currin

Teacher of the Year 2019

The evening concluded with a reception of desserts and refreshments for all who attended.  Granville County Public Schools is proud to continue the tradition of recognizing excellence and achievement for all!

ADA Compliance Errors 0